I miss this little girls heart

LittleGirlsHeart

Keeping a child’s heart has been my desire all my adult life.  To continue to love, give, laugh and engage in all the wonderment that is around us – no matter what age I am or what I have gone through.  Sometimes it’s hard, hell, most of the time it is!  I told my kids not long ago, I understand now why “old” people have that upside down mouth that pulls their faces down toward the ground.  That constant frown that comes from worry, heartache and disappointment.  We all feel it.  We’ve all been there.  So yes, I miss that little girl in me very often, the one who dreamed without barriers and who believed in magic and that she could do anything.  The one that trusted that love was true and that people were wonderful.  Today, she sometimes simply calls bullshit on it!  But you know what? Eventually she will get up and push her way through all the clutter and noise, just like a bull in a china closet, just like a determined little kid, and raise her head and want to laugh and play!  And I will let her because I choose joy and life over all else, and that is what she represents to me.

It’s not always easy, is it?  But here is what I learned today: Lift up your head, put a spring in your step (literally, get a little sassy), swing your arms, look at the sun and think about the universe, walk like a super model – like you have a million bucks in your bank account, put a flirty look in your eye, give a dollar to homeless or street person, make eye contact with a few people giving them a smile when you do – and BOOM BAM!  you will feel an immediate lift of your heart right in that moment- you will begin to feel your power surge up.  Do it every time you feel your gaze has turned downward.  You see, much of what we feel is due to what we are dwelling on and even in our body language, so make a pose and tell your body to tell your brain it’s all going to be just fine.  It’s amazing, I dare you to try it, and when you do, leave a comment here to tell us how it felt.

Love and hugs!
Sandy

One thought on “I miss this little girls heart

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

